Mittwoch, 9. Mai 2007
17th May
In about a week I will have the opportunity to experience the Norwegian national day. Even the university has a website in English about it and invites me on the intranet to participate:

"National Day, or the 17th of May, is a major event in Norway. It commemorates the signing of the Norwegian constitution, 17 May, 1814.

As is the tradition, University employees and students parades under the University banners. Students, employees and visiting researchers and their families are invited to join the procession! Meet up at Muséplass at 09:45. "


I will definitely observe it. It falls very well within the field of my research interests and will be good participant observation.

I already know, however, that I very much disagree with: "Bergen has another unique tradition which is very much a part of the 17th of May festivities; the drum corps. Most communities have one; some clubs are over 100 years old. Each corps has a unique rhythm, and when more than one sound together, the cacophony is certainly festive!"

Tam Tam Tam Tam Tam ....

It is a cacophony allright, but I do not consider it festive at all. It has been going on for weeks now and rather makes me aggressive.

... comment


To prevent spam abuse referrers and backlinks are displayed using client-side JavaScript code. Thus, you should enable the option to execute JavaScript code in your browser. Otherwise you will only see this information.