Montag, 23. April 2007
Personal number
In order to open a bank account in Norway I need a personal number. To register a mobile phone I need a Fødselnummer. I assume both are the same. Nobody at the faculty knows how and where I can get it. But to get a residence permit I need to register at the police and maybe then I also get this much needed number.

Antrag auf Aufenthaltsgenehmigung

As a researcher from the European Union it should not be any problem to get the residence permit. But still the atmosphere in the Aliens Office worries me. I start feeling vulnerable, as if I had done something wrong, as if anything could happen to me. And this although the staff is very friendly and helpful. They talk English with me, which I do not think would happen in Germany.

Now I have submitted my papers although I was lacking an official letter from the university. That will be faxed today to the aliens office. Then I will get my residence permit. Lets see how long it will take. And then I can apply for the personal number somewhere else, I was told.

To be continued ...

PS: I need the 11-digit number also to get my permanent computer account at the university.

PPS: Today I was told at the immigration office that the residence permit was posted to me on Friday (or rather Monday). Lets see.

... comment


To prevent spam abuse referrers and backlinks are displayed using client-side JavaScript code. Thus, you should enable the option to execute JavaScript code in your browser. Otherwise you will only see this information.