Freitag, 27. Mai 2011
yms: Connecting to the internet
During research trip we took refuge from the heat in one of the upmarket coffee shops. It provides internet access and one of my colleagues stubornly tried to connect to it, fully absorbed in the process.

Connecting to the internet


So drinking a cold drink, not having a smart phone and nothing to read with me, I had much time thinking about the new social media. Why is it that is so important to be always online? Why do you seem to forget the people around you? Don't you talk with each other anymore? Do I need a smart phone to be able to communicate with people?

Once the internet connection was established, my colleague got new information about what happens around us, told us about a blocked road close by. So yes, it makes sense to check the internet, especially in revolutionary times.

And he said he had needed a quiet time. I very much understand that.

Thus (non-)communication is much more complex than it seemed to me on the first glance.

... comment


To prevent spam abuse referrers and backlinks are displayed using client-side JavaScript code. Thus, you should enable the option to execute JavaScript code in your browser. Otherwise you will only see this information.